March 25, 2024

The Lucas County Board of Supervisors met at a Public Hearing on March 25, 2024, at 10:00 a.m. in the boardroom at the Lucas County Courthouse. Supervisors present were Dennis Smith, Cathy Reece, and Larry Davis. A motion was made by Davis and seconded by Reece to approve the agenda. All voted aye. Motion carried.

Also present were members of the public and county officials.

At 10:01 a.m., the public hearing was called to order and Chairperson Smith opened the floor to discussion. There was a great discussion held on items such as increased taxes and valuations on property in Lucas County, Road Maintenance, number of deputies the Sheriff has, and the form of the letter that was sent to residents.

The letter "School, County and City Budget Year Statement to Owners and Taxpayers - As Required by Iowa Code 24.2A," is a new communication from Lucas County to taxpayers as required under the new state of Iowa legislation HF718. Previously, the notice was published in the newspaper as "Notice of Public Hearing – Proposed Property Tax Levy." People were frustrated with the confusing nature of the letter. The letter gave the time and date of the Public Hearing for the School District, Lucas County and City or Rural taxes that apply to individual property owners. The largest problem is that the letter was based on the whole county and not individual property owners. The state mandated the counties to send letters to taxpayers but will not fund the costs which the county will pay. It was discussed how the money used for this mandated letter could have been used for essential needs such as deputies' salaries.

Currently, the Law Center is down two dispatchers and Secondary Roads is down four employees. It is getting harder to fill these vacancies in the current market.

One suggestion offered was to have a town hall meeting with the supervisors and public to brainstorm ideas to cut spending.

After much discussion, a motion was made by Davis to close the public hearing. All voted aye. Motion carried.

Dennis Smith, Chairperson

Julie L. Masters, Auditor